T2 all metal

ScoTTT2

I am still a beginner metal detectorist, just starting my third year. I have totally been enjoying the all metal mode of the T2se. Just guessing here, but the things that make any metal detector great must be, or should be, compared to this "old tech" mode of the T2. It took me quite a few hours to understand just what was going on under the coil with all the zips, zaps, pongs and other sounds that bombard the ears when hunting in all metal with the T2. It is the barks that tell of a good signal. I'm really not sure how else to describe the sound, other than a bark. When the T2 barks, it is over a good signal 95% of the time. The other 5% is poptops and the like. Canslaw and most other trash items give a scratchy, broken sound, most times. Iron sounds almost backwards. This bark also gets louder or softer depending on depth. A 10 inch dime still barks, only not as loud as a 6 inch dime.

There are some places where there is to much trash to hunt effectively without switching to the discrimination side, but a smaller coil helps in these places. There also are many more places where the discrimination setting will block signals, (I'm guessing that is somewhat a masking thing), that the all metal allows the target to bark its way through. I have been running with the all metal mode side set at around 80 (more or less depending on soil conditions) with the hum level just above 0, that, and a ground balance is all that is needed to run the T2. I am not sure just how deep this detector goes in all metal mode, but it is deeper than I want to dig in most places and as deep, or deeper than, the detectors the guys I hunt with use or at least deeper than the way they have them set up, and this isn't counting the boost process setting, which goes even deeper.

Anyway, give me something as efficient and simple as the T2, as I'm not sure I need anything else. And to use the words of 'Rebel Digger'..."It's American Muscle, baby."